Hallelujah!

Ever since Leonard Cohen sang, “it’s a cold and it’s a broken hallelujah,” I’ve loved this word.

I grew up hearing the French word alleluia but it meant little to me then.

If I read Cohen right, it’s a universal expression of resilience and gratitude.

Courtesy of fabulous Philip’s Aunt Audrey, here’s a choir that likely figured, “if you can’t get the people to you, go to the people”—-in of all places, a  food court. 

I wonder if the kids will ever forget this.

ttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXh7JR9oKVE

5 Responses to “Hallelujah!”

  1. Audrey Byrd Says:

    Alleluia Annie!

  2. Mark Says:

    Dear Anne,

    What a glorious introduction! Looking forward to engaging fully with your thoughts and reflections over the coming weeks and months. About to move into yet another attic in the heart of Scotland overlooking the River Tay (Perth…known for inspiring Sir Walter Scott’s novel The fair Maid of Perth though more, surely, must have happened since). Once cosy I have no excuses for not immersing myself.

    Missing your company.

    Chat soon, M X

  3. amoriarty Says:

    What a treat to hear from you Mark, as ever.

  4. sbowers Says:

    Thanks you, Annie and Aunt Audrey. Watching that was the only time I have ever wished I were in a food court!

Leave a Reply

