Happy Festivus: now “stop crying and fight your father”

One thing that consistently surprises me as I talk about pop-culture in the classroom is how many 20-somethings get Seinfeld references. 

(Some of them even get All in the Family references).

In other words, if kids these days are into comedy, they’re into Seinfeld.

I actually have very smart friends who are aggressively dismissive of Seinfeld. But I’ve made my peace with them and with my comedy gods for their sins (lords, they know not what they do).  

Arguing that Seinfeld is a brilliant snapshot of 1990’s nihilism with someone who sees it having no cultural or comedic merit is  like arguing that modern art could NOT have been done by a five-year old. 

It’s become a bit of a conversation stopper for me.

As we enter into the 11th hour of Christmas festivities, let’s take a moment to honour those of us who celebrate differently and those of us for whom Seinfeld truly was the water cooler talk of a decade.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/12/23/festivus-holiday_n_800840.html

5 Responses to “Happy Festivus: now “stop crying and fight your father””

  1. Audrey Byrd Says:

    I once had to do a psyche paper on ‘All in the Family” when back in school as an adult! I didn’t ralize what a complex, ‘meaty’ subject I had chosen! I spent the better part of many a night on it! Every time I thought I was done, there was more. C’est la vie, nom?

    Seems to me Annie, comedy, much like art is ageless. Both must- have- foods for the soul. One way or another, as we do every year, we shall have food for the soul, heart, mind and our tummies too!

    No matter how we clothe our celebrations, the content, not the context truly matters. Honor the reason for the season which brought and taught us Love. Intention is everything. Add honor to humor! What fun! So Joyeux Noel a tous!

  2. Wd Fyfe Says:

    Merry Christmas Annie. I hope your stocking is full of all those wonderful things that are impossible to touch.

  3. Audrey Byrd Says:

    Annie, where are you? I miss your entries. Hope you’re OK and enjoying 2011. Happy New Year!

  4. Audrey Byrd Says:

    Good to hear from you Annie. From one teacher to another, good for you…that is, if you like teaching! As tired and sometimes exaperated I could become, I loved it and miss it a lot…taught my last student in May a year ago.

Leave a Reply

